Friday, July 19, 2024
Home News Ariv and Divija emerge as U-11 championships

Ariv and Divija emerge as U-11 championships

Ariv and Divija emerge as U-11 championships

by NewsMonks

Top seed Ariv Dutta of the National Centre of Excellence (NCOE), Kolkata, was clinical in the Youth Boys U-11 as he beat Talasila Sai Maanvith of Andhra Pradesh 3-1 to win the final and lift the trophy in the UTT National Ranking Table Tennis Championships at the Tau Devi Lal Indoor Stadium today.


But Shanaya Tyagi of Delhi, the top seed in the U-11 Girls section, faltered in the last hurdle and went down 2-3 to the fourth seed, Divija Paul of Assam.


Sai Maanvith again failed in the gripping final, finishing as runner-up like he did in Vijayawada. The Andhra boy managed to take one game off Ariv, but he kept the top seed on tenterhooks throughout as the two played out three successive extended games. Yet, it was Ariv who held his nerves to lift the trophy.


Divija was 1-2 down in the final as Shayana displayed his prowess. However, Divija turned the tables against the Delhi paddler to win the last two games and the match.


Ariv, backed by good form, defeated Hardik Kumar 3-1 in their semifinal, but Sai Maanvith took time before settling in and outlasted Mohil Thakur of Maharashtra 3-2 in the second semifinal. The Maharashtra boy led 2-1, but his Andhra rival had the patience and game to overcome initial hiccups to enter his second final this season.


But it was a pity to see M. Ashvajith, who won the title in Vijayawada early this week, bowed out in the quarterfinals in a battle which went down to the wire. Hardik Kumar of Delhi, who lost in the semifinals to Aariv, accounted for Ashvajith 3-2.


Haryana’s Krishiv was the lone survivor to reach the quarterfinals. But Krishiv failed to withstand the pressure against Ariv, the top seed from the NCOE.


In the Girls’ semifinals, it was easy for Shanaya Tyagi and Divija Paul against their opponents, winning with an identical margin of 3-0. Even their quarterfinals proved one-sided, except Shanaya’s outing. The Delhi girl moved up without dropping a game, while the other girls won 3-1.




Youth Boys U-11: Final: Ariv Dutta (NCOE) bt T. Sai Maanvith (AP) 11-9, 14-12, 10-12, 12-10.


Semifinals: Ariv Dutta bt Hardik Kumar (Del) 11-5, 7-11, 11-7, 11-7; T. Sai Maanvith bt Mohil Thakur (Mah) 9-11, 11-4, 9-11, 11-8, 11-9.


Quarterfinals: Ariv Dutta bt Krishiv (Har) 11-4, 11-6, 11-2; Hardik Kumar bt M. Ashvajith (TN) 11-5, 11-9, 5-11, 9-11, 11-8; T. Sai Maanvith bt Gem Mahalanabish (WB) 11-4, 11-6, 8-11, 11-4; Mohil Thakur bt Dhrityaman Pandey (Del) 11-8, 11-8, 11-7.


Youth Girls U-11: Final: Divija Paul (Asm) bt Shanaya Tyagi (Del) 4-11, 11-7, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9.


Semifinals: Shanaya Tyagi bt Zakiya Sultan (MP) 11-6, 11-9, 11-7; Divija Paul bt Titash Chatterjee (WB) 12-10, 11-8, 11-9.

Quarterfinals: Shanaya Tyagi bt Dipti Das (WB) 11-5, 11-2, 11-4; Zakiya Sultan bt Ankisha Mishra (UP) 2-11, 11-6, 11-4, 11-7; Titash Chatterjee bt Siddhi Singh (Del) 8-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-4; Divija Paul (Asm) 10-12, 11-4, 11-2, 11-7.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Introducing NewsMonks, your premier source for comprehensive and concise news coverage. Dive into the world of business news, alongside a diverse range of other current topics. Stay informed, stay ahead with NewsMonks. Your go-to destination for news that matters.


Contact : +91 6351857103 (WA Only)



Live Traffic

Edtior's Picks

All Rights Reserved by NewsMonks @2023.,
Powered by